Congratulations to the nurses, physicians, and midwives at High River Hospital’s Birthing Unit, High River, AB for their success in the MOREOB Program and for winning one of two awards presented by ACOG (American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists)!

Dr. Karen Bailey and Sharon Dalrymple (clinical educator), along with their 50-member Birthing Unit team, have won the ACOG Council of District Chairs Service Recognition Award. This is awarded to Fellows of the College for outstanding activity including collaborative projects during the preceding 12 months. The District VIII region that Alberta is part of includes Alaska, Alberta, Arizona, BC, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington state, Wyoming, and Central America.

In her submission, Karen highlighted the process of changing FHS practice on their unit, and how the MOREOB Program and Core Team paved the way for change. The submission also highlighted patient and staff outcomes.